Skip navigation.
Home

Using the Full Screen function in your Meetings

The 'Full Screen' function is a powerful feature to maximize the engagement of your audience. Here are a few tips and tricks.

ᅠ Where to find the full screen menu

The full screen function is available to Meeting Hosts and Presenters at the bottom of any 'Share' pod.

Before clicking on the 'Full Screen' button, you need to take a look at the options it provides in the pull down menu. There are 2 options:

  1. Presenter's changes affect everybody: if selected, when a meeting host or presenter clicks on the "Full Screen" button, all participants will see the content full screen; if unselected, the Full Screen function will only impact the meeting host or presenter.
  2. Enable Full Screen toggle for participants: when selected, every participant can toggle between Full Screen and normal mode at their own leisure without impacting anybody else.

When Full Screen, the content is maximized on the screen; it becomes the only focus and all other meeting functions are inaccessible.

Full Screen works differently whether you access the meeting in the Connect Pro add-in or in the browser with a regular Flash Player. In the add-in, the content occupies the entire screen. In the browser, it will occupies the entire window of the browser.

full screen in add-in

full screen in browser

Four way to engage your audience

The 2 Full Screen options can be combined in 4 scenarios.

Enable Full Screen toggle UNCHECKEDEnable Full Screen toggle CHECKED Presenter's changes affect everybody UNCHECKED

1
2

Presenter's changes affect everybody CHECKED

3
4

For each scenario, we will look at respectively what the presenter and the participant see and explain how this scenario can be used. ᅠ The starting point is as follows:

 

1) Both options unchecked When the meeting host/presenter clicks on 'Full Screen', here is what happens for each meeting user:

 

Presenter

Participant

This scenario is useful when one of the Host/Presenter is sharing the presentation both in a Connect Pro room and broadcasting his screen on a projector or large display at the same time. The audience looking at the projector or the display will see the content maximized on the screen, making it easier for those people in the back row to see the slides. The rest of the audience in the Connect Pro meeting room (host, presenters and participants) retains the context of the meeting and can still chat for example.

 

2) Enable Full Screen toggle only

 

When the meeting Host/Presenter clicks on the Full Screen, here is what happens for each meeting user:

Presenter

Participant

In this scenario, each participant has the option to go Full Screen without impacting anyone else. One way to use this configuration is when you need to share multiple document in the room at the same time. You can check the toggle option for all of them and let your audience look full screen at the document of their choosing. Here is an example:

3) Presenter's changes affect everybody only

When the meeting Host/Presenter clicks on the Full Screen, here is what happens for each meeting user.

Presenter

Participant

This scenario is a great way to engage your audience and remind them to pay attention. They can no longer have access to any other function in the Connect Pro meeting room. The content you share with them is now the center of attention.

ᅠ 4) Both options selected

When the meeting Host/Presenter clicks on the Full Screen, here is what happens for each meeting user:

Presenter

Participant

This scenario is useful when you want to capture your audience attention by pushing them all to Full Screen but want to give participants the possibility to view the content in the context of the meeting room and keep interacting with others in the meeting.

Summary

Here is a table that summarizes the different scenarios we just reviewed.

Enable Full Screen toggle UNCHECKEDEnable Full Screen toggle CHECKED Presenter's changes affect everybody UNCHECKED

Only the presenter who clicks Full Screen goes full screen. Use when you are also projecting your screen to a live audience.
Give the option for all participant to view content full screen at their leisure. Use when you share multiple contents.

Presenter's changes affect everybody CHECKED

Push the full screen mode to all participants. Use when you want to focus your audience on the content being presented.
Push full screen mode to all participants but give them the option to go back to the meeting room. Use when you want to allow your audience to continue to interact with other participants